Movie Review: I Love You, Beth Cooper

“You’re only alive when you’re living life.”

It’s just minutes ago when I finished watching I Love You, Beth Cooper. And I thought it is just another chick flick dedicated to allow people to spend two hours of their life laughing at this romantic comedy, and recalling what their life was in high school. But for me, it was more than the laughing and the recalling. It felt like an epiphany.

Carpe Diem

People’s mainstreamed advice? Live your life to the fullest because we only got one chance to do it. So easy to quote AND remember, yet so hard to do AND really work on it. Because the truth is, life is indeed a subject. But we don’t have our Father Dy to teach us religion or Sir Montojo to talk about economics; we don’t have a Sir Baluca out there to guide us throughout Geometry or a Sir Araneta to talk about trigonometry; there is not even a Ma’am Vesagas to influence our grammar and composition or even a Ma’am Guerrero to lead the way to a wonderful equation in Algebra. We’ve only got ourselves out there. And this notion is especially intensified the moment you get to finish college. Life is the subject, experience is the teacher. We are still students. But it’s up to us how we would like to live and put up colours to it.

Class Valedictorian

Denis Cooverman has outlived his high school life by barely having a “social life”. We barely go out and just hang around with the debate club being the team captain. But all this time, he was (or at least he knew he was) in love with the head cheerleader, Beth Cooper, ever since seventh grade. Always sitting behind her in every subject and almost knew everything about her. But he never got to talk to her. And he was only able to confess his feelings during his valedictory speech. Definitely, a unique way of delivering that significant discourse in one’s student life.

But if he wasn’t able to do it, he would realize a lot of things. That the class bully indeed has issues he would have wanted to resolve but never really got to face it head on; that the girl with eating disorders really just wanted to slim down so other people wouldn’t tease her with her physical feature; and that Beth Cooper wasn’t really the girl Dennis imagined to be—that he was more than that.

Being a student gives you the opportunity to think through things that would give a great impact in your life. It allows you to set a direction and position it like how you want it to be. It also gives you the chance to get a glimpse of it hands on. You want to be the world’s greatest leader? Be the president of the student government. You believe you’ve got the looks and the body? You’ve got to be the head cheerleader. You have the skills to be the next Shakespeare? Be the publication’s editor-in-chief or be the president of the drama club. And you know what? All these actually start to happen in high school.

Four notches down

It has been four years since I graduated in high school. And having watched this movie, I get to reminisce all the wonderful moments and experiences high school has given me. I may not be the girl whom I used to be back then, but I’m having this opportunity to look back and compare if I still love who I am now or maybe I would have to pattern myself based from who I was in high school. If I am better now or I was so much better before. If I have exercised carpe diem more now or I have lived fully when I was still fifteen. If I am living my life now or I have lived more vigorously four years ago. All I am sure at the present is that all I want is to become a better of version of  me—whether by watching the me today, so plain and so hollow, or using the me four years back as an inspiration that I was once that vibrant girl and I can be that vibrant girl again.

Leave a Reply

