My best friend, Kon

June 10, 2010, around 3 o’clock in a cold Thursday afternoon. I felt the urge to take some adventure in my skin so I took a bus and went to SM Fairview. I only had one thought in mind—I will buy my future best friend at that particular Comic Alley branch. On June 10, 2010, around 3 o’clock in a cold Thursday afternoon, I had my first encounter with the bestest friend I ever had—Kon.

Bleach Wiki describes Kon (コン, Kon) as “an artificial soul modified by a Soul Society operation known as “Project: Spearhead” to inhabit a dead body and use his special powers to help the Shinigami fight Hollows, Kon’s special power is in his leg muscles.His name is short for Kaizō Konpaku (改造 魂魄, Modified soul or Mod-soul for short). Ichigo uses him to transform into his Shinigami form, leaving him in charge of his body the way normal Shinigami use artificial souls to look after their gigais. When not serving this purpose, Kon usually inhabits a lion plushy.

Kon primarily serves as a comedic foil in the series; when not inhabiting Ichigo’s body, his normal plushy body is treated with little respect and much disdain, sometimes bordering on abuse.

Kon’s redeeming quality, which allows Ichigo and Rukia to see him as someone worth saving, is his views on the sanctity of life. Because he spent many years in the form of a pill, fearful that one day he would be discovered and disposed of, Kon has developed a moral stance that prevents him from killing anything. He will also risk his own life in order to save even the lowliest of creatures,and is angered to see people who belittle their creations and dispose of them off-hand.”

Kon’s role in my life has been a very special one. He’s not just an ordinary stuff toy. I feel like I’m, in a way, like Rukia in his presence. And I’m just so thankful that he’s always there with me, in the bed side, fighting the hallows and espadas that visit my room at night.

Leave a Reply

