Somebody I used to know

Miles and miles away. I drive and sway. I was singing. Regretting. You didn’t have to stoop so low. Make people know. I was head over heels. I was falling. Now, only doubting. You didn’t have to stoop so low. Now, you’re just somebody that I used to know.

I passed by you along the hi-way. I didn’t want to live backwards. I never wanted you to cut me off. And I don’t even need your love. But you didn’t have to stoop so low. I never answered your calls. I never called. I never responded to your emails. I never emailed again. You didn’t have to stoop so low. Now, you’re just somebody that I used to know.

I slowed down. I saw my side-mirror. You didn’t even dared a single stare. Even just one glance? Nothing. You didn’t have to stoop so low. Telling the whole world how pathetic I was. How stupid I have become. What great loss I caused myself. You didn’t have to stoop so low. Now, you’re just somebody that I used to know.

But suddenly, I halted the car. Took one last glance of you. Standing by the road. Looking like a complete stranger. Me, looking like a complete idiot. I didn’t have to stoop so low. But I can’t take it. That you have become just somebody that I used to know. So, I opened the door. Walked towards you. And kissed you. You don’t have to be just somebody that I used to know. You will never be just somebody that I used to know.

Leave a Reply

