Filipino Friday (5): Celebrating the Best

Yey! This is my first official participation to the ReaderCon Filipino Friday. Sadly, it’s the last since the most anticipated Second ReaderCon Event will be happening tomorrow, August 18. Nevertheless, it’s a happy “first of the last” entry for me.

I am not entirely a book blogger but I have this immense love for books and passion for reading. Almost palpable I can almost hug it before I go to sleep every night.

I have read a number of books last year (2011). Maybe making up for the times I wasn’t able to read during my senior year in college. Well, my graduation year. That would explain why. A few of the titles I can still remember are Emily Griffin’s Love the One You’re with, Haruki Murakami’s Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman and After Dark, and Sarah Addison Allen’s The Girl who Chased the Moon. A few  Pinoy titles I’ve encountered were Ricky Lee’s Para kay B, Mina Esguerra’s No Strings Attached,  Chinggay Labrador’s Popped and Popped, too! and Marla Miniano’s Table for Two, one of my most favorite titles.

This year, I was in transition that’s why I barely had the time to spend in reading. But I just can’t get enough of books over cups of coffee and cozy afternoons. It’s just recently that I was able to really settle down in this new environment in the big city and yes, still on waiting-mode for job opportunities. So here I am, on bum-mode, dedicating my time reading books and drinking coffees, lying in my bed during cozy afternoons.

Some titles I was able to read before coming to Manila were Paolo Coelho’s The Devil and Miss Prym, which was a rather heavy kind of reading experience. But with guaranteed lessons to learn. Then there’s Emily Griffin’s Heart of the Matter and Alexandra Potter’s Who’s that Girl? I am currently reading EL James rather mainstreamed Fifty Shades Darker. I just finished the first book, Fifty Shades of Grey the other day.

My favorite Filipino titles which I have read this year are Ines Bautista Yao’s One Crazy Summer, Mina Esquerra’s That Kind of Guy, and Marla Miniano’s Every Girl’s Guide Series and Fan Girl. And yes, I’m a Summit Book fanatic and I’m telling you, I never missed a single title. Laughs. I have also encountered Bob Ong’s Mga Kaibigan ni Mama Susan and it gave me one bizarre reading experience. Really. Bizarre. Don’t even talk about the ending.

So, I’m VERY excited for tomorrow’s event. My first time in attending something like this and my first time to meet fellow book lovers. I have my own second thoughts about coming, thinking I would be the odd one out in the event. But it says, “This is an event for all Filipino readers, book bloggers, book club members, publishers and educators who have a passion for books and reading.” And I’m definitely qualified. I will absolutely make a separate post for this event and let’s see if I would be able to go through this alive and kicking. Wink.

Leave a Reply

