Across the universe with books and page-turners

Whenever asked to write about anything under the sun or whatever I want, I always experience having a road block. But when I glanced around the book shelves inside the testing room, I immediately knew what to write for my essay entry in a job application.

“Books bring us to many different places when we have to stay put in one corner.”

Many memes, tweets, and Tumblr quotes say this line and pass it on and on until it reached my Facebook wall. When somebody tagged me this photo quote, however, I never got to really know who it originated from or from what book it was taken out. But focusing on the saying alone, I believe many of us, especially bookworms, can attest to this.

Paolo Coelho’s books, especially Eleven Minutes and By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept, brought me to the sepia-ish community of Rio de Janiero. He gave me the chance to feel the rough soil, sand, and rocks of the place’s grounds and riverbanks. I even soaked under the voluptuous glare of the sun as Maria trails the road of mountain site.

Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella allowed me to stroll around the busy streets of London and even gave me a ghost for a friend. She offered me a glimpse on how it is to work in a recruitment agency with English people and how they actually perceive American men. Even just in my mind’s eye, I was able to ride the London Eye and stare at the infamous Big Ben.

The mainstreamed Fifty Shades Trilogy by E.L. James exhibited the exquisite city lights of Seattle. She vividly described how wonderful it is to have a castle in the sky (literally) and witness the world below when she painted through words Christian Grey’s apartment. I was able to amble along the Mariners and even able to ride a yacht and feel the magnificent blue sea.

Haruki Murakami brought me in a bittersweet road in Japan as I read his book, After Dark. I was able to see Tokyo by night and Tokyo by the crack of dawn. Although it was a rather creepy read for me, I had a fun glimpse of the empty Tokyo streets and the sleeping houses of the Japanese.

And of course, going back here in my motherland, Bob Ong was able to take me to one of the mysterious provinces in the Philippines in his book, Mga Kaibigan ni Mama Susan. And how one “probinsyano” would venture his life along the crowded districts of Manila. Listening to the “tunog and kwentong kalye”, eating exotic street food, and experiencing the mishaps of living in the big city.

I’ve always wanted to travel the world and write about these trips. Maybe just like Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love. With a twist in every exciting adventure. But going back to the here and the now, I am just about to start a career in publishing. I will enhance my skills in researching and writing. Then one day, I will leap out from my set of page-turners and get to really set my feet in Rio de Janiero, London, Seattle, and Japan. For now, I will first enjoy the sumptuous sites Metro Manila could offer me.

Leave a Reply

