Oh, it’s Tuesday. And yes, just another Tuesday

By now, I have outlived the notion of the free-time-is-luxury-time thing. It has been three months. It has been three fucking months. I was still invited for some interviews and pre-employment exams. I still get emails and text messages from potential employers. But I wasn’t still offered a job.

I came here in the big city with only one thing in mind—I’m going to get into that big publishing company. But I haven’t taken into serious consideration about everything in between. From worrying monthly bills to actually getting a job. People around me say that something greater is just waiting for you around the corner or that the right job will come at the right time, in the right place. And all those craps.

I’ve allowed myself to venture into a series of job hunting—from well-established publishing companies to the super unknown ones. As long as I’m still going to be a part of the print industry, I was already up for anything. I jumped from magazines to books to online publishing . Still, nothing.

What have I been doing wrong? I’ve gained adequate writing experiences and editorial background, graduated from a prestigious university with flying colors, did my researches, showed up on time, dressed accordingly, spoke my heart out. My family’s there, always ready to support in every endeavour I choose to take. My friends, well, my friends support me too. So, what have I been doing wrong?

It’s Tuesday. And it’s fucking Tuesday of the third month. Bills are due. Just got rejected from another company. Just got rejected from another company. Just got rejected from another company. Did I say that I just got rejected from another company?

Now, I feel stuck up. With no money. Literally. I feel crestfallen. I feel stuck up. I can’t talk. I can’t think. I can’t seem to do anything. Other than write. And write. And write. And write. And write. And write…

And in what seemed as a random internet surfing, I landed into Cosmopolitan Philippines editorial director Myrza Sison’s blog entry, How to Get Your Dream Job in 20 Steps or Less, and talked about how she actually landed her dream job. And she made me realize what other people in my circle seemed to have assumed that I already know, that’s why they didn’t bother telling me anymore. That getting to where you want to be has no shortcuts. That the journey towards that dream career is no straight line. That landing that dream job entails a long and winding road, sometimes even taking the road less travelled.

If anything, I’ve taken a rather circuitous, multi-directional path, which proves that the best way to get from your first job (or even your college course) to your dream job doesn’t always entail the shortest distance (i.e., a straight line). Sometimes, it can be shaped like a crazy starburst—and take…well, decades! -Myrza Sison

 After reading her entry, I thought that in this worldly world, it’s just a matter of connections and family names. A matter of backers and first impressions. But as I continue to think about it, I realized that I was wrong. It is a matter of hard work and how badly you want to have that something and how open you are to opportunities. Another Cosmo issue made me realize that it’s just actually a matter of recognizing opportunities and what you do with them.

So maybe, this Tuesday is just about taking a halt from this emotional downfall. And actually a day for me to see the light. I am here to chase my dreams and I am not giving up. If that entails taking that long and winding road, even taking the road less travelled, then. So. Be. It.

4 thoughts on “Oh, it’s Tuesday. And yes, just another Tuesday

  1. I’m really glad you were able to find something to help put things into perspective! It’s too easy to get into a rut sometimes of only noticing the negative just because it seems to be everywhere..but then something occurs and you realize the positive things never left, you just stopped acknowledging them. A great lesson that I am glad you reminded me of 🙂 Keep Calm and Carry On!

    • And the following Tuesday, ta-dah! I got hired. Talk about extreme emotions. Tee-hee. Thank you so much for your words, They enlightened me. Especially when you said that “positive things never left, you just stopped acknowledging them.” It made me smile a thousand sunny mornings. All the best to you and happy blogging!:D

      • CONGRATULATIONS! and now we can just take turns inspiring one another, because I am so happy you found what you were looking for! Sometimes things just have a way of falling into place. I absolutely love reading your blog, I get to travel everywhere I want to go! And let me know what you think of some of my other Nashville coffee shop reviews when you get the chance 🙂 Happy blogging to you!

  2. Pingback: The next chapter: Here comes free coffee! | Neon Trances

Leave a Reply

